Resolution 2004-116

Ø

A RESOLUTION SUPPORTING THE AMENDMENT OF THE MEMBERSHIP APPORTIONMENT PLAN AND PLANNING BOUNDARY FOR THE FIRST COAST METROPOLITAN PLANNING ORGANIZATION TO INCLUDE NASSAU COUNTY

WHEREAS, subsequent to each decennial census, the Governor of the State of Florida requests each metropolitan planning organization to submit a member apportionment plan and planning boundary; and

WHEREAS, in accordance with Section 339.175(2)(a), *Florida Statutes* the metropolitan planning organization voting membership reflected in the Membership Apportionment Plan, must consist of no less than five members with a maximum of nineteen apportioned members, the exact number to be determined on an equitable geographic-population ratio basis; and

WHEREAS, Section 134 of Title 23 United States Code further specifies that the policy board of a metropolitan planning organization designated as a transportation management area shall include officials of public agencies that administer or operate major modes of transportation in the metropolitan area; and

WHEREAS, on May 13, 2004 the First Coast Metropolitan Planning Organization amended the metropolitan planning area boundary to include a significant portion of Nassau County in addition to all of Duval County and a significant portion of Clay and St. Johns Counties, including the St. Augustine and Jacksonville Urbanized Areas; and

WHEREAS, it has been demonstrated that seventy-four percent of the population of the geographic area of the First Coast Metropolitan Planning Organization resides in Duval County, twelve percent resides in Clay County, eleven percent resides in St. Johns County and three percent resides in Nassau County; and

WHEREAS, in accordance with Section 134 of Title 23 United States Code the Jacksonville Airport Authority, Jacksonville Port Authority, Jacksonville Transportation Authority, the St. Augustine-St. Johns County Airport Authority and the Ocean, Highway and Port Authority (Nassau County) are public agencies that administer or operate major modes and must be represented on the policy board of the First Coast Metropolitan Planning Organization; and

WHEREAS, on May 13, 2004 by majority vote the First Coast Metropolitan Planning Organization approved a membership apportionment plan composed of four members representing the City of Jacksonville including the Mayor of Jacksonville and three members of the Jacksonville City Council, with the City of Jacksonville representatives each having a weighted vote of two (which must be cast together), one of the three Mayors representing Atlantic Beach, Jacksonville Beach, and Neptune Beach serving on an alternating basis, two members of the Clay County Commission, one member of the St. Johns County Commission and the Mayor of St. Augustine, and one member of the Nassau County Commission, and one representative each from the Board of Directors of the Jacksonville Airport Authority, Jacksonville Port Authority, Jacksonville Transportation Authority, the St. Augustine-St. Johns County Airport Authority and the Ocean, Highway and Port Authority for a total membership of fifteen members with nineteen votes; and

WHEREAS, the Florida Department of Transportation, District II Secretary will continue to serve as an ex officio member; and

WHEREAS, it has been demonstrated that this apportionment of membership is based on the population and geography of the area encompassed within the boundary of the First Coast Metropolitan Planning Organization and is fair and equitable as delineated in Section 339.175(2)(a), *Florida Statutes*, and complies with the provisions of Section 134 of Title 23 United States Code,

WHEREAS, the required interlocal agreement defining operational details and commitments to the First Coast Metropolitan Planning Organization will be prepared and submitted for approval to this body as soon as possible; and

WHEREAS, the Rules of Procedure of the First Coast Metropolitan Planning Organization further detail the composition of the Policy Board and the role and responsibilities of members, alternate members, and officers;

NOW THEREFORE BE IT RESOLVED this <u>9th</u> day of August, 2004, that the Board of County Commissioners of Nassau County endorses the apportionment of membership plan and the boundary approved by the First Coast Metropolitan Planning Organization on May 13, 2004.

BOARD OF COUNTY COMMISSIONERS NASSAU COUNTY, FLORIDA

Hong G. Vargant Floyd L. Vanzant

Its: Chairman

ATTEST:

J.M. "CHIP"/OXLEY, JR. Its: Ex-Officio Clerk

Approved as to form by the Nassau County Attorney:

MICHEAL S. MULLIN



First Coast MPO Boundary in Nassau County

The FCMPO boundary in Nassau County extends north from the Duval County line along US301/SR200, then west along Ball Park Road south of Callahan, then east along CR108, then north on Morgan Circle, west of Callahan, then southeast on SR115 and along Little Mile Creek, then south along US1/SR15, then northeast along SR200/A1A continuing to I-95, then north along I-95 to CR108 (north), then west on CR108 to the northeast along Owens Rd to the juncture with US17/SR5 and the Georgia State line and from US17/SR15 east along the St Mary's River to the Atlantic Ocean, then along the coast line to the Duval County line.



First Coast MPO Boundary in Nassau County

The FCMPO boundary in Nassau County extends north from the Duval County line along US301/SR200, then west along Ball Park Road south of Callahan, then east along CR108, then north on Morgan Circle, west of Callahan, then southeast on SR115 and along Little Mile Creek, then south along US1/SR15, then northeast along SR200/A1A continuing to I-95, then north along I-95 to CR108 (north), then west on CR108 to the northeast along Owens Rd to the juncture with US17/SR5 and the Georgia State line and from US17/SR15 east along the St Mary's River to the Atlantic Ocean, then along the coast line to the Duval County line.